Home Studio

So I though I’d give a quick rundown on my studio strobes this evening.

When it comes to setting up a home studio for Photography it can get quite expensive. But if you shop around and do your research you can save quite a bit of coin. I purchased my gear late last year, and it works quite well considering. I have 3 strobes, with 2 umbrella/boxes (Kinda work like an octabox but they are a umbrella setup with a diffuser over the front.) and 3 Soft boxes. There was a bunch of other stuff that came with the kit but I haven’t really used it as yet. The strobes are about 180w, and from what I can gather doing tests with my fuji x100, the flash duration is about 1/800sec. They have a guide number of 36 apparently, but this is chinarific ebay stuff so who knows.

Studio Strobe

Either way they fire in slave mode off any other flash triggered. They also have a sync connector. step-less power control and modeling light.

I ended up paying on ebay about $150 for my kit, included 3 of these strobes, the soft boxes, a bunch of other accessories for them and wireless triggers. Then I paid an additional $150ish for the Back Ground kit with 2 Video light soft boxes. I also purchased the brollies boxes too. All up it was just over $300ish, Not bad really.

The Strobes have more than enough bang for what i’m using. I pretty much shoot at Sync (1/200) F8 Iso 100 with the brollies modifiers on them at about 2.5m form the subject. If anything, you can’t dial the power of the strobes down low enough sometimes.

I don’t use the wireless triggers that the kit came with as they only sync at 1/160 rather than the 1/200 with a PC Sync Adapter.

The background kit i got has alright stands, The cotton backdrops in black, white and Chromakey green are a bit of a fail. Cotton just doesn’t cut it. I need to get some velvet, cardboard or at least a heavier fabric backdrop to get better results.

All up, for under $350 it’s not a bad combo. I had a customer at work who set up a studio herself too, but she got some strobes that were even smaller again and didn’t have a modeling light. She was a little concerned with the quality though as she got electric shocks from the PC sync cable connected up.

The strobes i got are actually quite solid and you can get them in power ratings all the way up to like 300w. Although unless you’re overpowering the sun or using modifiers at long distances i don’t see the need for that much power.

One thought on “Home Studio

Leave a Reply

